Charles’ first New Year Honours list has been released

The first set of honours from the new King have been announced

The first list of New Years’ Honours authorised by King Charles III has been released.

In total, there are 1,107 recipients on the main list. Themes reflected in this year’s list include commitment to public service, youth engagement and support for environmental and climate change.

Recipients are selected by independent committees, with those chosen then formally approved by the Prime Minister and The King. Learn more about the specifics of the Order of the British Empire here.

Embed from Getty Images

50% of those who have been awarded are women, an improvement on last year’s . There are another 141 recipients on the list announced by the Foreign Office, which recognises overseas contributions, as well as separate lists for police, fire and ambulance personnel and military service.

Recipients include:

Members of the England Lionesses football team for their performance in the summer when they won the Euros; Captain Leah Williamson receives an OBE, whilst players Lucy Bronze, Beth Mead, and Ellen White receive MBEs.

Embed from Getty Images

Brian May – guitarist of Queen has been appointed a Knight Bachelor for services to music and charity. May is an animal welfare campaigner.

Frank Skinner – the comedian has been made an MBE for services to entertainment. He said he had not yet told his family because he thought it may have been ‘some sort of administrative error’.

Stephen Graham – the Merseyside actor has been made an OBE for services to drama.

David Harewood – the actor and advocate has received an OBE for services to drama and charity.

Embed from Getty Images

Jason Knauf and Sara Latham – the former royal aides have been made Lieutenants of the Royal Victorian Order (RVO). Knauf worked for the Sussexes and the Cambridges for seven years; he went on to become the Chief Executive of William and Catherine’s Royal Foundation, before stepping down in 2021. Knauf still has involvement in the Earthshot Prize. Latham was head of communications for the Sussexes.

Honours within the RVO are in The King’s gift and are bestowed independently to people who have served the Monarch or the Royal Family in a personal way.

Embed from Getty Images

Dara Seamus McAnulty – the youngest recipient in the List has received a BEM for his environmental work and for his work with people with Autism Spectrum Disorder.

Alison Rose – the first woman to run one of Britain’s biggest banks, as chief executive of NatWest Group, has been made a Dame.

Rachel Riley – the Countdown presenter and mathematician has been made an MBE for her efforts in raising awareness of the Holocaust and combatting antisemitism.

Embed from Getty Images

Francesca Simon – the author of the Horrid Henry series received an OBE for services to literature.

Dame Mary Quant – the designer, who is credited with popularising the mini-skirt, was appointed a member of the Order of the Companions of Honour. This award is granted to those who have made a major contribution to the arts, science, medicine or government and was founded in 1917 by George V. It is regarded as the junior honour to the Order of Merit.

The list also recognises senior diplomats at the forefront of the UK’s response to the war in Ukraine, with damehoods for Melinda Simmons, the ambassador in Kyiv, and Deborah Bronnert, the ambassador in Moscow.

Share this

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.